Prince of Wales stands as a landmark in historic
The corner stone carved with the date 1864 can still been seen today. It was also named The Arcade Hotel, The Niagara House, and finally in 1901, The Prince of Wales Hotel. This name was chosen in honour of the 1901 visit of the Duke and Duchess of York, who were later crowned King George V and Queen Mary.
The original Hotel was built on the corner of Picton and King Street. It was built of polychrome brick (having a basic red brick fabric with cream-coloured highlights). Its architectural style was that of the Second French Empire, seen most clearly in its mansard roof.
The Hotel was purchased by the Wiens family in 1975 and remained for the next 22 years. The Wiens family extensively refurbished and expanded down King Street in one direction and down Picton in the other to include what we know now as The South Wing, The Studio and The Court Buildings.
In March of 1997, Prince of Wales was added to the Vintage Hotel Properties. On November 8, 1998 the doors were closed to complete a monumental restoration project of the Hotel to include the true essence of Victorian charm. On July 1, 1999, Prince of Wales proudly reopened its doors to experience “Luxury Accommodation in the Heart of Wine Country”.
The Perfect Gift!
Gift Cards are redeemable all year at any Vintage Hotels' property for delicious dining, relaxing spa treatments and well-deserved getaways.